Around Us | Arrábida

Art Senses

10 March 2018

No Comments


The Arrábida Bridge or “Ponte da Arrábida” is one of the six bridges over the Douro River, the bridges are namely Ponte de Maria Pia, Ponte D. Luís I, the Ponte da Arrábida, Ponte de São João, Ponte do Freixo and the Ponte do Infante.

The structure is an iron, archway bridge, constructed of reinforced concrete, asphalt deck. The deck is supported by a dual archway, united by corner narrow elements in concrete crosses. There are 76 pillars, with the largest four located near the main supports.

Interesting Notes

In March, 1952, a preliminary project for a roadway bridge was adjudicated to Professor Edgar António Mesquita Cardoso, by the JAE. It was approved in 1955. The construction of the bridge proceeded in May 1957. By the 22nd of June, 1963, the bridge was concluded and inaugurated. At the time of its completion, the bridge’s main span of 270 metres (890 ft) was the largest of any concrete-arch bridge in the world. A process to classify the bridge began on the 16th of February, 2011. An announcement was issued on the 18th of September, 2012 ,on the project to classify the bridge as a Monumento Nacional (National Monument), establishing its respective Special protection Zone. On the 24th of June, 2016, a tourist experience began that allowed pedestrians to walk across the archway, and so the transformation of a small annex took place, and became the reception hall for the “Porto Bridge Climb”.

pt_PT en_GB